Get to know our history
About the award show

Welcome to the Better Collective Bookmaker Awards. We are delighted to confirm that this year we will be expanding the awards to cover five markets following on from the success of our inaugural awards in Athens this year. These markets are Greece, Denmark, Sweden, Romania and Poland

Across all of our sites players and sports bettors are at the heart of everything we do, and we want to provide them with the best information on the industry to help them make the best choices based on their needs. We have created these awards to enable them to do just that. Our categories are determined after extensive market research allowing us to get to the heart of what bettors want, how they make purchase decisions and what factors they care about when choosing a bookmaker.

The awards process is fully transparent and all of the results are data driven, the result of many, many months of data collection across each market. Because we really do listen to the market the categories can vary depending on what market we are in. You can see the categories for each country by visiting that page below.

The 2021 Awards were presented during a glittering ceremony in Amsterdam on the 28th of September 2021. You can find more details, as well as this year’s winners on the individual country pages.

How we did it

We want to make sure that we give bettors the information they need to make the best decisions for them, regardless of where they are or what sites they use. And so we have developed a robust process that we continue to review and revise after last years awards in Athens. In an ideal, pre COVID world we would have started the process in March to enable us to collect data over as long a period of time as possible. This year data collection started in August, allowing us to see how bookmakers perform over time rather than just a single snapshot. This means we are collecting the same data at the same time for all bookmakers in the market. Yes, it is a lot of data!

This is our process to make the Better Collective Bookmaker Awards the most robust and beneficial to our users, your customers.

  • Large scale betting habits, market and sports survey on all main sites
  • Review of data ongoing during collection
  • Country based focus groups held to clarify findings and gain a better understanding of bettors
  • Awards categories confirmed by market
  • Data collection commences
  • Data reviewed on a monthly basis
  • Weighting of all data based on survey results and final scoring
  • Winners confirmed
  • Awards ceremonies take place, winners revealed

If you have any questions at all about the process please feel free to get in touch as we would be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Do you have any questions
Contact us
If you would like any further information on The Better Collective Bookmaker Awards please contact
Shona ODonnell
awards gold icon
Head of Strategic Events
Shona ODonnell